Carole & Jim Young Fellows

The Carole & Jim Young Fellows is a program to involve outstanding SMU students with TEDxSMU. Carole and Jim are long-time TEDsters, parents of two SMU alumni, and incredible civic leaders in Dallas. This program is a tribute to their contributions to the TED, SMU and Dallas communities, and has been made possible thanks to the generosity of an anonymous donor.

SMU students engaged with TEDxSMU are recognized as Young Fellows and participate in the yearly TEDxSMU programming.  During the TEDxSMU conference weekend (Oct. 31- Nov. 1), Young Fellows will engage with TEDxKids@SMU as mentors to our middle and high school attendees through our Host program.  All Fellows will be given the opportunity to attend TEDxSMU.  Beyond the conference, Young Fellows will collectively host year-round TEDxSMU programming to expand and promote “ideas worth spreading” on campus and to the greater Dallas community.  Additionally, these students will help plan our spring conference InsideSMU Powered by TEDxSMU.

TEDxSMU Open House

Thursday, September 11th

M Lounge, Hughes-Trigg Student Center

11am – 2pm

Free iFratelli pizza

Stop by in between class to learn how to get involved with TEDxSMU!


Young Fellows Monthly Meeting

Tuesday, September 16th

Huitt-Zollars Pavilion, Embrey Engineering Building


All SMU students are welcome to attend the first Young Fellows’ monthly meeting.


Young Fellows Alumni


Sally Bage – Dedman School of Law

Spencer Connaughton – Lyle School of Engineering

Zain Haidar – Meadows School of the Arts

Dylan Lee – Perkins School of Theology

Chris Lydick – Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Chani Neff – Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Irisa Ona – Meadows School of the Arts

Chase Ott – Lyle School of Engineering

Haley Smith – Cox School of Business

Tori Spickler – Dedman School of Law

Andrew Udofa – Simmons School of Education and Human Development

Jackie Walker – Simmons School of Education and Human Development

Reed Westerman – Cox School of Business

Michelle Williams – Perkins School of Theology

2011                                                                                                                      2012

Alicia Booker – Simmons                                                                                               Ann Basler – Lyle

Andrea Netti – Meadows                                                                                   Christian Genco – Lyle, TEDxSMU 2012 Speaker

Andres Boogs – Perkins                                                                                                   Yusra Jabeen – Meadows

Brandon Lazarus – Perkins, TEDxSMU Hilltop 2012 Speaker             Douglas Luippold – Dedman Law

Bre’Shard Busby – Lyle                                                                                                   Brad Namdar – Simmons

Harriet Atsegbua – Dedman Law                                                                              Ndidiamaka Onukogu – Perkins

Julie Kangas – Dedman Humanities                                                                        Matthew Rispoli – Lyle and Dedman Humanities

Katelyn Hall – Dedman Humanities                                                                          Bryan Rowes – Cox

Krishanu Sengupta – Dedman Law                                                                         LyAnna Smith – Perkins, TEDxSMU 2013 Speaker

Moriah Momsen – Lyle and Dedman Humanities                                               Sarah-Michelle Stearns – Dedman Law

Rahfin Faruk – Deman Humanities                                                                           Cassandra Stockall – Simmons

Roman Stolyarov – Cox and Dedman Humanities                                                Sean Tremblay – Cox

Seth Dennis – Cox                                                                                                                Luis Veloz – Meadows

–                                                                                                                                                       Shannon Woodruff – Dedman Humanities